Greetings from Regensburg, Germany

A day trip to the beautiful Passau, Germany.

A day trip to the beautiful Passau, Germany.

 

Mikki ordered Cow Tongue and let the table try some.

Mikki ordered Cow Tongue and let the table try some.

Marty, Mikki, Vinicius (Brazil) and myself getting on the wrong train and ending up in Ingolstadt.

Marty, Mikki, Vinicius (Brazil) and myself getting on the wrong train and ending up in Ingolstadt.

One of the classic German beer festivals.

One of the classic German beer festivals.

Hey!
I’m writing this blog on my ALMOST final train home. After a series of mishaps and unfortunate events my supposed 6 hour train ride from Hamburg to Regensburg became 12. (Although I should not complain, I think I’ll consider this an extended tour of Germany…)
Anyway, each morning I wake up, walk the 15 minutes to school and take a 6 hour intensive Sprachkurs (German speaking course). My class consists of many people from different countries and cultures which is nice because I get to learn a little about their culture as well.
After our Sprachkurs, we have the rest of the day as free time. Shopping, going out at night and traveling usually squeeze themselves in, especially on the weekends.
There are many places to go at night including bars, dance clubs and very nice restaurants. Our school provided bus fare for us for the entire duration of our trip so getting around Regensburg is simple and safe.
On the weekends, we are usually given the option of traveling with the other international students. So far trips to Passau (pictured above), Nürenburg, and Prague have been planned, but I believe once it gets warmer we will travel further. Each city we travel to captivates me with its beauty and history. I believe Germany is not given enough credit for the beauty and timelessness of their cities.
Grace, Mikki and I as well as the other KIIS students have had some interesting stories. Getting on the wrong bus/train is normal for us (see Ingolstadt picture above), as well as accidentally hitting the “emergency” button… Traveling to festivals (also pictured above), trying local cuisine (Cow Tongue picture…also above) and meeting so many interesting people. I cannot wait to see what the next 4 months have in store for us!
Tschüß
Hayley

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

